Get help applying for federal funding through the Just Transition Fund’s Federal Access Center! Learn More.

The following is a list of federal programs that provide grants, loans, and technical assistance for economic development projects related to workforce development. See additional lists of other federal programs here.

Programs and their requirements are subject to change, so please check department websites for current information.

Area Development Program

Appalachian Regional Commission
Varies by State

The Area Development program provides grants to invest in two general areas within Appalachian communities: critical infrastructure and business and workforce development. Critical infrastructure investments mainly include water and wastewater systems, transportation networks, broadband, and other projects anchoring regional economic development. Business and workforce investments primarily focus on entrepreneurship, worker training and education, food systems, leadership, and other human capital development. All ARC Area Development grant proposals originate at the state level in consultation with the ARC state program manager.

Delta Workforce Grant Program

Delta Regional Authority
Application Deadline: December 21, 2023

The Delta Workforce Grant Program (DWP) provides grants to support workforce and education programs throughout the Mississippi River Delta and Alabama Black Belt regions, ultimately building long-term community capacity and increasing economic competitiveness. The DWP supports projects and initiatives that create a more vibrant economic future for the Delta region by expanding opportunities to recruit, train, and retain a diverse and local workforce, aligning workforce and economic development strategies, creating sustainable talent pipelines, establishing or enhancing locally/regionally significant sector-based partnerships, and supporting enhanced workforce productivity through investments in innovative programming or services. This program is designed to prioritize: communities particularly hard hit by industrial downsizing, businesses closures, and job losses and projects that impact distressed/isolated counties and parishes. Eligible applicants include counties/parishes, cities, or other political subdivisions of a state; public or private nonprofit organizations or associations; regional development organizations; economic development organizations; workforce investment boards; unions/labor organizations; community-based organizations, faith-based organizations; institutions of higher education; Historically Black Colleges & Universities; Minority-serving institutions; Trade/technical schools; and Federally recognized Tribes.

Climate Ready Workforce for Coastal States, Tribes, and Territories

Department of Commerce
Pre-Application Deadline: November 30, 2023
Application Deadline: February 13, 2024

The Climate Ready Workforce for Coastal States, Tribes, and Territories Competition provides grants to assist communities in coastal and Great Lakes states and territories so they may form partnerships that train workers and place them into jobs that enhance climate resilience. Applicants do not need to have a background in climate resilience but are expected to engage with employers that have good jobs that enhance climate resilience, as well as with strategic partners who can work with the applicant and employers to ensure the training provides the skills needed for those jobs. Applicants must be located in coastal or Great Lakes states and territories. Eligible applicants include state governments; Tribal governments; territorial governments; local governments; institutions of higher education; and nonprofit organizations or associations.

More From Getting Started with Federal Grants